Week 52- Speckles or Splashes

hiwhewi 783

Speckles bleached speckles on brown to white, while drops dashed on deep dark blue. The rocks gleamed algae green, a trip hazard for every young flipper. As the pale sunlight casually gleamed on slimy skin. We lazed there like sleepy sirens singing on the rocks, playing like puppies swimming in the sea a way no human would experience. The time flew by when we heard the roaring splash of the waves, the lazy chug of the running motor ever more slow each and every time we heard it, I looked through sleepy eyes at the weird concoction as the noise stopped and it glided closer. A frequent event but ever the more strange as silence fell and we looked up. every time it looked different, colours, shapes, movement and just for a moment we would look up and see. Then the pained motor would start and just like that it would be gone and the splash of the roaring waves along with it.

I love Ireland, it has to be one of my favourite places in the world. The mass of the countryside the beautiful landscape and the welcoming feeling that spells “home”. I took this picture when in Kerry, we were travelling to a small yet exquisite Ireland off the coast, filled with gorgeously exotic plants and amazing colours. It was astonishingly beautiful. If it weren’t for the man-eating midges it would have been perfect.
As with many of my photos I was quite lucky after all I don’t speak seal and yet I chose to angle the photo so as to incorporate talking space into my photo. My main focus was the seal on the rock it just so happened my talking and waving worked so maybe I do speak seal. Its beautiful pose really makes this photo special, combined with the contrast of dark and light present by the dark sea and the bright green countryside, I couldn’t be happier. This photo definitely holds some fond memories.

4 thoughts on “Week 52- Speckles or Splashes

Leave a comment