Week 26- Lullaby Lily

Week 26- Lullaby Lily

After getting back from America everything became so well known and relaxed. it was as if The holiday magic had in some ways disapeared.
Blown away with the hot air of death valley evaporated like water would in its sand, Escaped into the trees of the red woods to never be found, and lost in the LA traffic. Yet theres something satisfying about being home. I think after a while you begin to miss the little things. The little characteristics that paints a face or simply a voice. I was glad to be home.

This week I have been helping my grandad with his gardening, well attempting. It seemed once we dug out all the weeds and all the bad spots there was so much beauty uncovered it was like treasure glinting in everyones eyes and so i guess it came to a point where I could no longer fight the urge to grab my camera. 😉 This is my faviorite photo because of its colour and use of reflection. I angled the photo purposely to ensure that you could just see the inside of the lily along with its curved petals. This proved surprisingly difficult as the pond in which it lay was incredibly low so in order to get a good shot i had to bend down considerably. But that did not bother me, this lily is beautiful its colours are rich and deep. The way the algae draws attention to the flowers detail ensenuates the picture and illuminates the lilys colours.  I feel the lilys reflection in the water also aids in drawing focus to the lily as it creates a shadowy silhouette which I love. I placed the lily in the bottom left hand corner of the photo in order to present the lilies petals as outward stratching and to add some clarity to the picture. A wider angle further emphasised the lilies shape and colour aswell as its size which i felt related to my message this week of how looking beyond the bad and ugly parts we can uncover the beauty.  I made no adjustments to the colours intensity or brightness at all, or used photoshop in anyway as i felt it would ruin the flowers look of purity.

3 thoughts on “Week 26- Lullaby Lily

Leave a Reply

